Hazard Mitigation and Disaster Recovery Planning Division Elections

2018 Election

It's time to cast your vote! Thank you to the following HMDR members who have volunteered their time and expertise to serve as Division leaders. Please click on the candidates' names to view their bios and position statements.

An e-ballot was sent to all HMDR members on Monday, November 13. If you did not receive a ballot, please contact Jennie Geisner, AICP, Senior Leadership Associate. Voting will conclude on Tuesday, November 28 at 11:59 p.m. CT.


Adrian Freund, FAICP
James C. Schwab, FAICP


Jennifer Ellison, MPA
Josh Margul
Heather Wade

Position Descriptions


The Chair-Elect assists the Chair and coordinates committee activities. In the absence or resignation of the Chair, the Chair-Elect assumes those duties. Upon completion of the term of office, the Chair-Elect becomes the Chair (see responsibilites below).

The Chair shall: preside at all Division meetings, prepare an annual program and budget for approval by the Executive Committee, establish and appoint committees, oversee such Division activities as policy, finance, publications, research, public relations, membership recruitment, and contacts with related organizations, serve on the Divisions Council of APA, and make other delegations and decisions as necessary to carry out the mission of the Division. The Chair is further responsible for ensuring that the Division complies with requirements of the APA Corporate Bylaws.


The Secretary-Treasurer shall maintain a Division membership list and support the Chair with membership recruitment, prepare minutes of the Executive Committee meetings, submit proposed Bylaws to the membership, receive and disburse Division funds, maintain complete financial records which can be audited, and assure that all required reports and filings are made in a timely fashion to APA.

Election Schedule

October 23-November 2
11:59 p.m. EDT
Call for Nominations
November 6 Staff provides all submissions to Nominating Committee for review.
November 6-10 Nominating Committee reviews submissions and prepares the final slate of candidates
November 13-28 Voting via e-ballot
By Friday, December 1 Results announced
December 2017 Leadership onboarding/training
January 1, 2018 Newly-elected officers assume their positions

Nominating Committee

Christine E. Caggiano, AICP
Scott G. Davis, AICP
Wynne Kwan, AICP
Kelli Sertich, AICP