National Planning Awards

Each year, APA's National Planning Awards recognizes outstanding efforts in planning and planning leadership.

2019 Award Recipients

Congratulations to 2019's National Planning Award recipients! Each one exemplifies commitment to planning healthy, sustainable, and inclusive communities for all. These innovative public outreach strategies and projects to strengthen communities — and the planners behind them — demonstrate how planning connects us.

Learn More

How to Nominate

Learn about the various award categories and what is needed to complete your nomination. Questions can be emailed to


Previous Recipients

APA's National Planning Awards program has honored planning work and individuals for more than 50 years. Check out the previous recipients, including our Planning Pioneers and Planning Landmarks.