APA Elections

2023 APA Consolidated Leadership Elections

The 2023 election cycle has concluded, and we are pleased to announce the results for the APA Board and AICP Commission elections. Component results will be announced at the component level.

If you have questions about the election process, contact us at getinvolved@planning.org!

APA Board and AICP Commission Elections Results

APA Board of Directors

For APA President-Elect

Sue Schwartz, FAICP

For Director At Large (1)

Nina Idemudia, AICP

For Director At Large (2)

Bruce Stiftel, FAICP

For Director Region 2

Ben Hitchings, FAICP

For Director Region 3

Dawn Warrick, AICP

For Director Region 4

Sara Copeland, FAICP

AICP Commission

For AICP President-Elect

Erin Perdu, AICP

For Commissioner Region 2

Patrice Ruffin, AICP

For Commissioner Region 3

Staron Faucher, AICP

For Commissioner Region 4

Suzanne Schulz, FAICP


Component Council Chair Elections Results

Chapter Presidents Council Chair

Julia Lave Johnston

Divisions Council Chair

Chad Nabity, AICP

Student Representatives Council Chair

Bianca Mers


Election Resources

2023 Election Timeline

APA Board of Directors Candidate Guide

Election Policies and Procedures

APA Electoral Regions

Chapter, Division, and Student Elections


2023 Election Timeline

March 23 Chapters/Divisions notice of participation and submit checklist form to staff.
April 14 Begin the Call for Nominations.
May 19 Firm deadline for submission of names of potential nominated candidates.
May 19 Firm deadline for receiving electronic position statements of all potential nominated candidates.
June 1 Member list for ballot distribution is prepared, for members eligible to vote in the election.
July 20 Firm deadline for receiving petition candidates (for those that have a petition process in place), and their position statements/bios.
August 10 Ballots available online, reminders emailed to all chapter/division members.
Late-August Email reminders sent to those members who have not yet voted.
Early-September Email reminders sent to those members who have not yet voted.
September 8 Firm deadline for receipt of ballots from membership.
September 14 Survey Ballot Systems issues election results report to National for dissemination to Election Committee.
September 18 Deadline for Election Committee to certify results. 
January 1, 2024 Newly elected leaders take office.


Chapter, Division, and Student Elections

Every year, APA members run for elected Leadership positions within three component groups: Chapters, Divisions, and the Student Representatives Council. Information about participating groups for the 2023 election cycle appears below.

Participating chapters include: Chapter Presidents Council Executive Committee, Alaska, Colorado, Georgia, Hawai'i, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Northern New England, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, and Washington.

Participating divisions include: Divisions Council Executive Committee, County Planning, Federal Planning, Food Systems, Hazard Mitigation and Disaster Recovery Relief, Housing and Community Development, Latinos and Planning, LGBTQ+ Planning, Private Practice, Sustainable Communities, Transportation Planning, Tribal and Indigenous, and Women and Planning.

Student Representatives Council Executive Committee positions include: Student Representatives Council Chair, Student Representatives Council Region 2 Representative, Student Representatives Council Region 3 Representative, Student Representatives Council Region 4 Representative, and Student Representatives Council Region 6 Representative.

Chapter, Division, and Student Elections